President Kiir dissolves the Transitional National Legislature

Hon. Awut Deng Acuil hands over a bell to President Salva Kiir at Juba Day Secondary School to signal the beginning of 2020 Certificate of Secondary Education Examinations in the Republic of South Sudan | Source: Office of the president Facebook Page.

President Salva Kiir has dissolved the Transitional National Legislative Assembly and the Council of States, paving the way for the reconstitution of both houses.

 The dissolution was announced in a presidential a decree broadcast on state-owned SSBC on Saturday evening. Eye radio reported. 

The move comes after countless calls by activists and diplomats for reconstitution of the national legislature following the formation of a unity government last year.

This, according to observers, made it difficult for the enactment of laws that assist the transitional processes, including reforms spelled out in the peace agreement.

The TNLA will be expanded from 400 to 550 members comprising representatives from the peace parties.

Both houses shall be reconstituted to include new appointees as per the revitalized peace agreement.

According to  the September 2018 Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS), the former transitional government shall nominate 332 members, SPLM-IO with 128 members, and South Sudan Opposition Alliance, or SSOA with 50 members.

On the one hand, the Other Political Parties (OPP) shall have 30 representatives and the Former Detainees (FDs) with 10 but on the other hand, the Council of States, shall have 100 members instead of 50.