South Sudan peace parties agree on responsibility sharing in Administrative Areas

Parties to the revitalized peace agreement being implemented in South Sudan have reached a deal on the allocation of key positions in the three administrative areas.

The document named Agreement on Structures and Allocation of Responsibility Sharing in the three Administrative Areas in accordance with the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of Conflict in the Republic South Sudan (R-ARCSS) document was signed on Monday in Juba.

In Abyei Special Administrative Area, the government is given 55 percent, Sudan People Liberation Movement-In Opposition (SPLM-IO) 27 percent, South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA) 10 percent and Other Political Parties (OPP) 8 percent.

According to the agreement, the Chief Administrator of Abyei Administrative Area will come from the government while his deputy will be SPLM-IO nominee.

Two advisors are divided between the government and SPLM -IO equally. Out of  5 administrations, SPLM-IO and SSOA are given one each while the three remain for incumbent government.

The legislative Council will constitute 2 from SSOA, 2 from OPP, 7 from SPLM-IO and 14 from the government. 1 out 4 counties in Abyei is given to SPLM-IO while the three remain for the government.

Abyei town council will have 35 councilors; 19 coming from the government, 9 from SPLM-IO, 4 from SSOA and 3 from OPP. Abyei town mayor will come from SPLM-IO.

The document seen by Abyei FM on Tuesday bears the signature of South Sudan’s Interior Minister, Hon. Paul Mayom Akec who represented the Incumbent Transitional Government of National Unity (ITGoNU) and of Hon. Peter Marcello Nasir Jelenge of SPLM/SPLA-IO.